Mahashivrathri and me.

I know you must be puzzled at this word “me”, it is because I am gonna tell you about my shivrathri  .

Are You A Devotee Or A Fan?

I am rather an ardent fan of lord Shiva. Don’t you think he is cool. Obviously super cool, hard cored weathered god, with overwhelming musculature ,stunning physique. Not a typical Hindu god adorned with jewels but with tiger skin, rudraksh and ashes. God who was against all conventional ,superstitious rituals of India. A lover of nature, a symbol of courage , outgoing unbiased person. He  is the only god in Hindu mythology who had treated both devas and asuras equally. When all the myths say other gods favoured Devas, he was impartial.This was my idea of lord shiva before.

Thanks to Amish Tripathi , I am now Lord Shiva’s diehard fan. 

God of Love

Yes of course ,he is the god of love. No doubting it.how much he loved Sati?

Omg,It is still my favourite love story,but it has tragic end, still so much love, so much dedication..

FORBIDDEN LOVE, the kind of love between a beautiful princess(Sati,how much I love her description) and a god(Shiva) who wanders in forest, lives in caves and perfumes himself with ashes of burnt corpses.

Lovely romance springs in Sati’s heart  ,despite her father’s hatred towards Shiva. At last during swayamvar she puts the garland around the shivlingha instead of a prince.The shivaling turns into Lord Shiva and god takes her with him.

I would have loved if story ends here….

Isnt he a lovely lover?…Image result for shiva and sati

Yoga and Dance

God of yoga and dance, health and entertainment both.There are many organisations that use god’s name and misuse it…well, I don’t trust in those organisations.

Yoga is an lifestyle and exercise to be followed for a healthy lifes,dance is the art which unites your soul and body.Just read shivapuranas to know more about it..

So much to discuss here…I am not diverting from the topic so I cut short.Image result for shiva and sati

Myth behind Shivrathri

Myth1. god drank poison emitting during churning of ocean to protect world from destruction,making his throat blue providing him the name neelkanth.

Myth2. Marriage of lord Shiva and Parvathi

Me And Shivrathri 

Most celebrated and auspicious festival in my house hold.

Reason 1. No underlying expenses, how much money would it cost to go without food and sleep?

Reason 2.So much fun.

It was a vrat mostly taken by females of the family, obviously the aristocratic Indian families makes sure women go through all hardships,but my daddy takes shivrathri (just for us).

but,it is a blessing in disguise.A whole day without food ,and night without sleep isn’t it dreadful?obviously no.

I love it,vrat is no meal,but my parents converted it to no rice meal.I am a typical south Indian no food other than rice would ever please us.

Prayers are lovely. Instilling bhakthi(devotion) in your heart.The day is spend reciting panchakshra mantra(5 lettered mantra)

‘Na’ -screening or veiling;
‘Ma’- the  impurity;
‘Si’- Lord Shiva;
‘Va’- the  Sakthi;
‘Ya’- the  soul.

,mrithunjaya mantra(mantra that  is known to beat death itself).

Om tryambakam yajamahe sugandhim pusti vardhanamv Urvarukamiva bandhanan mrtyor mukshiya mamritat

We eat one chappatti in noon that is it for whole day,and later it is fun,dancing singing and playing .It is the one and only day dad and mom plays with us.Fun, jokes and prayer.

Mom tells us stories about her childhood shivrathri’s  .We read Shiva purana and daddy interprets each story in his own style.

We do all sorts of stupid things to beat sleep,tv is literally the most boring thing ever.And then In temples,ladies sings Lord Shiva’s song,old ladies dance it is so much fun.

Reciting ohm nama shivaya.

Have you tried???

close your eyes..ohm voice from heart sets your mind in peace.

The hardship start when sun rays tickle ,waiting till next day evening is hardest.How sleepy I would be?I would snore if I close my eyes..Image result for shiva linga

Net result:

1.You would understand the value of food and sleep.

2.You would be able to go without food or sleep if it is necessary

3.Makes you spend quality time with family.

4.Lord Shiva’s blessings

 

Har har Mahadev.

P.S: this is just my interpretation.If there is any mistake please do tell me.

 

 

 

 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. That is a great post. me too loved Shiva trilogy by Amish a lot. It was great to read about Lord Shiva Again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anaghamurali says:

      thank you.Really happy to know that you too love lord shiva .shiva triology is an wonderful work…I am really glad you read it

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Coincidentally, I happen to be his core fan too (Amish..thank you soo very much!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anaghamurali says:

      yes dear sister,thanks a lot for reading..Amish is surely an outlook changer

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Soo true…even before meluha I loved Shiva. And about reading..it was totally fun.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. anaghamurali says:

        before meluha I loved shiva as a god,after reading that I loved Lord Shiva as a god and a man….

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Ananya says:

    Good interpretation.😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anaghamurali says:

      thank you sweetheart

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ananya says:

        You’re very welcome, pal!💙

        Liked by 2 people

  4. randyjw says:

    Hi, Anagha. I hear your happiness. Sounds like you had an enjoyable celebration with your family! Thanks for sharing it with us!

    Like

  5. Akhila says:

    But why it’s a myth, second one

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anaghamurali says:

      no we cant be sure that their marriage was on this exact date…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Akhila says:

        On the date.. okay

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

