A scream

Is it a curse?

or malediction perhaps worse,

to be a born as a girl,

In this wretched world.

 

Confined or caged,

we are nothing different than a immure bird.

predicted to caper around with barbie dolls,

and act as dull witted damsel in distress.

 

what are we considered ?

perhaps a burden laden

on our loved ones.

Or a liability in the household.

 

useless we are assessed,

never did we get a chance?

to prove ourselves.

 

Is it our mistake?

that we are born a girl.

Only if I was ever given a choice

I would have chose to be a boy…..

 

why is that ?

you slit down our wings,

and asked us to fly.

tied our legs together ,

and asked us to run…

 

what we can give you

is a sarcastic chuckle…

for you forgot to lookout

for the fire beneath the dainty lashes….

 

confined beneath the mighty walls,

in the wretched name of society.

in order to upheld family name,

shattered lies are our dreams….

 

we scream unheard…

beneath the worldly curtains of silence…

unable to bear

we scream…swearing why this myth

created this Sita ….

who symbolized women as patience…?

why do every one expect us to bear?

all the insults in the name of gender

and still remain silent…

 

why did they forget Durga?

our heart pleads for justice .

why should daughters be like sita…

why cant we react…?

 

I wish I could breath free,

run away into wild,

all alone pursuing my dreams,

at least let me be me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

91 Comments Add yours

  1. This is very well written. The rebellious voice is echoing through the lines. Keeping aside few typos related to punctuation, this was an awesome piece !

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Akhila says:

    let us be Durgas and not Sitas..

    Liked by 2 people

    1. anaghamurali says:

      yes,,,,dear..it is time to stop this misconception that girls should be as patient as sitas…

      Liked by 2 people

  3. देर से आए पर दुरुस्त आए,बहुत खूब आये.वाह वाह!! RUCHIRABISWAS Jee.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. ssunshine14 says:

    Beautifully drafted with every aspect of a women’s struggle..

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Akhila says:

    Reblogged this on Words and Notion and commented:
    Let us be Durgas and not Sitas

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Akhila says:

    Reblogged this. Hope it is okay.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. anaghamurali says:

      thank you for reblogging….it gives me a lot of happiness….

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Akhila says:

        you are most welcome.
        and i am reblogging a post, other than mine, for the first time. And indeed, the credit goes to you

        Liked by 3 people

      2. anaghamurali says:

        that is really sweet of you…..thank you a lot…it really means a lot…..

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Akhila says:

        :). Your “scream” touched my heart..

        Liked by 3 people

      4. anaghamurali says:

        well…..this poem was written from my tears yesterday night……
        I wrote this to reduce my grief and suffocation….

        Liked by 3 people

      5. Akhila says:

        I see..
        Yes, I can read that scream between the lines..Hope you are okay now, my sister..

        Liked by 2 people

      6. anaghamurali says:

        trying to be okay…..but it really hurts…after writing..I feel better

        Liked by 3 people

      7. Akhila says:

        Hmm.. writing is a great remedy..I can imagine your situation..
        How can we react upon this inequality..?

        Liked by 2 people

      8. anaghamurali says:

        I feel helpless agitated….but looking upon daughters as a burden really is the greatest inequality…
        but we dont have a voice….\
        if we speak out why are girls speaking to elders….?

        Liked by 3 people

      9. Akhila says:

        True.. we need to be Durgas.. Need some work around..

        Liked by 1 person

      10. anaghamurali says:

        yes…..I will prove them my courage by my life sister….
        tomorrow I want my parents to tell I am a boon and not a burden..
        I changed a lot yesterday..

        Liked by 2 people

      11. Akhila says:

        thumbs up… i am here to support you.. i donno anything about you, but i know we have a common vision.

        Liked by 2 people

      12. anaghamurali says:

        yes….you understood my pain so well…..thank you I feel really better after speaking to you

        Liked by 3 people

      13. Akhila says:

        you can contact me on twitter.com/AkhilaEK

        Liked by 2 people

  7. Mahesh Mali says:

    You have conveyed that unheard scream with beautiful words …

    Liked by 3 people

    1. anaghamurali says:

      thank you….dear…your comments means a lot

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Mahesh Mali says:

        You’re Welcome Sita+Durga Anagha .. 😅 … how you write so amazing everytime ?!? … you’re kinda one of my idols in blogging 😊

        Liked by 3 people

      2. anaghamurali says:

        really…..you falter me a lot…..idols in blogging..?….you made my day dear…but I dont deserve such praises

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Mahesh Mali says:

        Really … what I want from blogging is enhance my writing to write a book … you have written one

        A series of stories … Unbounded…!???

        Just started writing poems … you do that too …

        And Really like some bloggers here who do such versatile work … and you’re one them …

        So , I said/typed 😂 it genuinely .. not just to falter you or something ..

        Liked by 3 people

  8. Sonu Somaraj says:

    Beautifully written. Its as if I can hear you scream all your emotions. Great Choice of words mate.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. anaghamurali says:

      Oh thank you friend…for your comment….and patience for reading,…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sonu Somaraj says:

        It was my pleasure, mate 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  9. extinct0703 says:

    A A S P H
    N N P I A
    A O L E T
    G T E C S
    H H N E O
    A E D F
    R I F
    D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anaghamurali says:

      oh…thank you……I decoded your comment……that is really nice of you

      Liked by 3 people

      1. extinct0703 says:

        The bottom couldn’t sustain so skipped beneath and messed my towers. May God bless you.

        Liked by 2 people

  10. jade0207 says:

    This is exceptionally well written. So many of those lines are my thoughts some days. I love “you chop our wings and ask us to fly ” part. Love that

    Liked by 2 people

    1. anaghamurali says:

      thank you dear….for this sweet comment

      Liked by 2 people

  11. Wow! Amazing! Yes, I can definitely hear your scream!

    It’s actually funny because yesterday I wrote something on the same subject. But after reading yours, I can’t hear my scream as loud, lol. So, I’ve decided to do a rewrite on it until I get my scream louder, lol! I’m glad I didn’t post it yet! Thanks for the inspiration.

    ~Sarah Katherine
    http://Www.thetreasuresoflife.com

    Liked by 3 people

    1. anaghamurali says:

      thank you dear …..and I look forward to read yours….

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Nitin says:

    Anagha.. this was really something… I still don’t have proper words for my reaction..just saying that it was great, or i loved it will not suffice.. so i’ll just tell this… i reread the below part a couple of times, and when i did that, i felt something stir in me…

    why is that ?
    you slit down our wings,
    and asked us to fly.
    tied our legs together
    and asked us to run…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. anaghamurali says:

      thank you for your kind words…..
      I think poems shaped from tears has more impact…

      Like

  13. Brilliant. Social stereotyping will change in tym. Hopefully 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. anaghamurali says:

      thank you….even I hope so

      Liked by 1 person

  14. gloriaarmit says:

    👍👍

    Enviado desde mi iPhone

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Reblogged this on Art by Rob Goldstein and commented:
    Another powerful poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. This had such an impact on me.

    The opening stanza thrust me in the heart of your poem, and plunged into me, the universal suffering of the many females from current and the various ages of cultures. And then brought me back to you (the lady with the ‘gracious’ comments on my post)

    The ‘curse’ question unlocked the subject matter of the poem, so that it immediately presented itself, injustices, abuses, frustration, hence ‘The Scream’… The reading of the rest just confirmed what was anticipated from the opening, even though it had not yet been read. The poem aroused goose bumps ‘inside’ my head – is that possible!

    No it is not a ‘curse’, but cultural and traditional inversions – they alone turn humans into cursed beings, from warped believes and values.

    The ‘elders’, mainly, are responsible, particularly the ‘females’ . Not just because, they have lived through the suffering, frustration abuses, but because they readily sell them selves out, to ‘honor and custom’. They reinforce the same ‘crimes’ against their grand children, if not children in favour of ‘the community’, ‘tradition, of their fathers and forefathers’ – never mind the future fathers!. The females instilling their children with same seeds of criminality, and, are ‘commonly’ supported, So that in the future they’ll sprout replicas.

    Oddly enough, does no one find it strange how these same elders ‘demand’ respect and reverence, through ‘coercion’, but rarely do they ever earn it, freely.

    I think the men are victims too. The difference, they have physical freedom, and have the power to make small changes, in the nucleus of the family – which could be manageable and affective.

    This topic is so close to my heart. I feel your frustration, but also feel a great relief that people are thinking about this….. though they might not have ‘thought; of ‘who’ to hold responsible……Not that I look to apportion blame, or that they are blind, but they ‘dare’ not, even in their deepest interior, to think of the elders in shuch a light – the shackles that keeps the community/individual ensnared…. [ freedom, is relative]

    You sound like a beautiful and loving person, and I’d imagine a daughter would be very happy with you, and that you’d teach a son to view females with the respect and fairness that they deserve. Tiny specs that accumulates in change, if others like you existed.

    If you find my views too strong, or too direct, I apologies. Otherwise the poem, superb!x Iam yet to reread. That was my initial impression.

    Thank you, very much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anaghamurali says:

      Thank you so much dear for your kind words…..and this view and outlook….

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Antra says:

    That was truly powerful and captivating Anagha….Kudos to you girl 👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anaghamurali says:

      thank you Antra dear

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Nitin says:

    anagha -please connect with me on this blog – sharingtidbits.wordpress.com (the old one isn’t working anymore :/ -lost in the domain migration attempt)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anaghamurali says:

      hmm……that is really……sad…I followed that blog too..what about all your poems and stories in that blog???Is it too lost……

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nitin says:

        Ya. Most of the final drafts were there. though i write on other blog too (medium) that is a help. I have raised issue with customer care. . hope they at least get data.. thanks for asking anagha..

        Liked by 1 person

      2. anaghamurali says:

        hmm…..you are an awesome writer bro…losing your works are really sad,,,,,I wish you can get it back

        Like

  19. Lovely post…talking about girls councidently I am also in womanly mood. My post going the same direction.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. voulaah says:

    great post
    thanks for sharing
    anita
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. voulaah says:

        you’re welcome dear
        🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  21. randyjw says:

    Hi, Anagha! This is a powerful, moving revelation that arouses the needed eyes of awakening, the see-all, and be-all. It brings to light the core of frustrations remembered by me as a child; I’ve forgotten, but you recalled it. “Hmmm” is right!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anaghamurali says:

      Thank you..i am really happy to hear it from you….

      Like

  22. MansiGujjar says:

    Loved this beautiful peace portraited with the magic of words.. can easily relate myself here 😊 can see the anger and fighting spirit In it .. never fall apart someday we girls will bring the change .. gud luck dear. .keep writing

    Liked by 2 people

    1. anaghamurali says:

      Thank u Mansi dear…..for these kind and lovely words…….I wish someday we can change it….

      Liked by 1 person

  23. Samc95xc says:

    Friend, I’m giving away all my poems, and song lyrics, if you are interested to use them, please click here. https://starlitoctave.wordpress.com/2016/05/05/giveaway/
    Love
    Sam

    Like

  24. johncoyote says:

    Powerful and good words shared. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anaghamurali says:

      thank you for reading for your time and this lovely comment

      Liked by 1 person

      1. johncoyote says:

        Was my pleasure and you are welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

  25. johncoyote says:

    Reblogged this on johncoyote and commented:
    Amazing poetry by a talented writer. Please read and enjoy.

    Like

  26. hey, strong theme, well expressed. girls are the best blessing that the universe has!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anaghamurali says:

      thank you dear….a lot….

      Liked by 1 person

  27. Indira says:

    I am proud to be a woman!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anaghamurali says:

      That’s is really wonderful to hear..:)

      Like

  28. Rohit says:

    Great post 👍

    Liked by 1 person

  29. bhaatdal says:

    Very nice Anagha

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Beautiful!! Hugs!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome.

        Like

  31. How true sis…I too wish to get an opportunity to be myself and show the world that Girls are not less than guys in anything but the society is a b**tch and wont let us do what we want without criticism :/

    Liked by 1 person

  32. irfan uddin says:

    well, what to say…
    I can feel the pain out here and if I say, it’s not the same in this modern world where girls are no more as you penned here, I will be lying because things have changed for sure but still we have to go miles ahead…..
    let’s hope and work together to change this world…
    Anyway cheer up now 🙂 things will turn to ur side for sure 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

